The Internet has brought many changes into our day to day life. Nowadays we can do things such as mailing, contacting, banking and communication much faster. Is this a positive or negative development?

With the development of the internet, people can now save time on tasks which previously involved a certain level of time investment. Although some may see the rise of the internet era as advantageous to their time management, in my opinion there are enough drawbacks that make this a negative development. Admittingly, it feels like a luxury to be able to speed up the process of certain tasks. Previously, if one needed to speak to someone, they would have to invest a fair amount of time to travel to this person, perhaps even risk the chance of not finding them where they were expected to be and then travel back. With the development of messanging services, people can now simply drop a text message to the other person, which can even take mere seconds, speeding up the communication. This results in people saving on a lot of their time. On the other hand, as with the development of any new commodity, the rise of the internet era comes with it's own limitations. By deciding to engage with humans online we lose the very essence of personal human interactions. Similarly, by opting to complete our so called 'mundane' tasks on our screens we become more sedimentary. For example, if someone decides to call their friends from their couch at home, they don't gain from the additional movement they would have had if by had met them in person. Both these scenarios take a toll on our health, either physically or mentally, increasing the chances of developing diseases such as obseity or depression. In my opinion, despite the comfort of saved time that phones can provide us, this does not outweigh the benefits of 'real' experiences. Perhaps if someone were to use their time saved on mundane tasks by meeting with friends/ family they would benefit from this technology edge. However, in my opinion people do not realise the larger scale consequences of their actions and therefore I strongly believe this commodity is not that advantageous. In conclusion, there is a saying that goes ' time is precious', and there is a lot of truth to this. But unless people appreciate what they are losing in this haven that technology offers, this can be a dangerous slope for the development of serious physical and mental health issues.