Some people think that living in big cities is bad for people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For a parcel of the population, life in big cities is considered to be bad for people's health. I agree partially with that idea. While living in big centers can bring daily challenges to life, some benefits are also observed by many residents. The development of big cities, since past centuries, is known for non planned population booms. Without planning, most of big cities faced also a significant raise in poverty, violence, social inequality, polution and crimes. Therefore, the lack of equal oportunities and safety is still nowadays a reality in most of the megalopolis around the world. And that has a real impact in the quality of people's health, especially mental health. Added to that are others factors as for example, time consuming spent commuting from one place to another, and the stress that comes with life in a fast paced place. The cherry on top is, according to an american survey, the difficulty in making new friends and the trend of isolation and depression. On the other hand, other people believe that in big cities the multiculturalism and more options of leisures can facilitate the engagement in different clubs and communities. One thing that was agreed by most of the interviewers is that it its easier or more possible to feel satisfied professionally in a big city than in a small one. This is due to the higher number of options and job opportunities. It is also important to highlight the easy access to health clinics and professionals that are usually limited in most of the smallers cities. The interviewers also agreed that is not only the size of the city or the number in population that makes an impact in people's health, but what it offers for them in terms of infrastructure, public transport, good health and security system. In conclusion, living in big cities can bring advantages and disadvantages and many factors have to be analyzed in order to understand what works better for each individual lifestyle.