Most countries aim to improve their standard of living through economic development, but many important social values can be lost as a result. Do the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

Many countries around the world mostly have the same purpose for their citizens, which is to build economic growth for a better future. However, this aim also has consequences that affect some parts of social values. In this essay, I will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of the issue. To begin with, most governments in every country focus on developing the growth of the economy, which will affect their standard of living, making it become higher and better. By improving the standard of living, the government can provide better facilities for citizens. For example, the government can facilitate better service in education, medication, and communication. By providing those basic facilities, the standard of living in the country will be better, and the government will succeed in fulfilling the expectations of their citizens. In contrast, to ensure this condition happens smoothly, sometimes the government does not consider another value that still needs to be protected, especially in a social aspect. For example, when the government builds a new facility, such as a hospital, amusement park, or apartment, in some area close to the people housing complex that already existed. The government tends to destroy that place and force them to relocate without asking about their aspirations. This situation reduces the most essential value itself. In conclusion, pursuing economic growth is an excellent idea for the government to provide a better life to improve standard living in the country. However, the social value also needs to be considered as a special issue when the government wants to execute their policy.