Some people consider national news as more important while other people think that international news is of more importance. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people prefer reading or watching national news rather than international news, on the other hand, some people think the opposite way. So, this essay discusses both points of view and provide my opinion. In my opinion, people who prefer national news are usually interested in politics and the economy because they can directly affect their way of life, for example, higher household expenses, air pollution policy, unemployment rate, etc. For this reason, they focus on how the government handles situations or how to solve problems. For example, in the north of Thailand, people are suffering from a severe level of air pollution, and they are now waiting for the authorities to do something or issue any policies to relieve this issue. So, they regularly check the national news. Moreover, they might perceive there is a high chance that things happening domestically can occur to them, for instance, a weather forecast which relates to their lives. In contrast, individuals who prefer international news might have a job that relates to the world situation, e.g. stock exchange, the oil industry, international investment, etc. As a result, they need to know what is happening around the world to forecast and plan their resources, for example, the war between the U.S. and Iran, which severely affects oil prices, and there are many countries that have an effect on this. Moreover, this group might have a perception of everything linked; thing happens in one country can cause something in another country, for instance, Covid virus, which happened in China, then rapidly expanded around the world and shut the world down for a few years. In conclusion, both national and international news are important. However, I personally think it depends on what people focus on, what they are interested in and the effect on them, as it might depend on their job, life or lifestyle.