Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued whether the governments should spend money on railways or building a roads. While some people believe that the governments should focus on constructing railways, I personally believe that they should concentrate their effort on building a roads. This essay will mention two main reasons supporting my opinion. Firstly, one of the main reasons is that the high cost of creating the suitable infrastructure for railways and investment. For example, creating railways in all parts of the country will make the governments increase spending money on railways, also some countries lack for local investors. As a result, the government will face big challenge in order to overcome the limitation of financial capability. Moreover, a study published in 2020 has proven that, the majority of all countries in the world prefer building roads rather than railways due to the weakness in their economy. Secondly, another important reason is that the highly demand of manpower to maintain railways safe for use. For instance, performing all type of maintenance will require a large number of workers such as engineers and technicians. In addition, some governments can not provide the basic requirements to run railways stations because of immigration of local people to others countries. Therefore, operating railways station with less number of people which will cause delay in project and some times leads to stop the project completely. In conclusion, I believe that the government should focus on building a roads rather than railways because the difficulty to offer appropriate funds support in order to build railways and it requires significant number of labors to accomplish this project.