Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Nowadays, in many countries around the world, we are constantly shown advertisements on TV shows, in magazines, or on huge LED boards located at intersections. However, the methods used to produce these advertisements and the level of concern for ethical standards are questionable. I strongly agree that some advertising methods are unethical because they can influence people ’s behaviour and cause negative effects on individuals and society. Firstly, advertisements can encourage people to buy things they do not really need, especially in families. Some families may not need the products that are displayed on television, but when a housewife sees the advertisement, she may feel that it is a good idea to have it and decide to buy it immediately. This happens because advertisements often present products in an attractive and persuasive way. In another case, there are families with young children who are not mentally mature enough to understand their family’s financial situation. Therefore, they may strongly want a product after watching a toy advertisement. They may beg their parents to purchase it and cry for a long time. As a result, parents may feel pressured and finally be obliged to buy the toy. This shows how advertising can create unnecessary demand and financial pressure. Secondly, advertisers may use people ’s psychological weaknesses to promote their products. For example, they may display a young lady with a fit body using a product in order to attract customers. Although this may not seem very harmful at first, it can negatively affect young people ’s minds and create unrealistic expectations about appearance. As a result, some individuals may feel dissatisfied with themselves. In addition, some advertisements, such as those on cigarette boxes, use attractive slogans like “the ideal of manhood.” When people see this message, they may imagine a better version of themselves and decide to buy the product, even though it can be harmful to their health. This demonstrates how advertising can mislead people and encourage unhealthy behaviour. In conclusion, advertisement makers, regardless of the negative effects their products may have on people, continue to produce them in order to satisfy customers and increase profits. However, these methods can have harmful consequences for both individuals and society. Therefore, authorities should introduce stricter rules to check and control advertisements before they are shown to the public.