Nowadays longer distances are travelled by people to work and study on a daily basis . some consider it to be a negative development, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the present, people commute longer distances daily. Some think that it creates a negative development, which I personally agree with because of the negative effects on work or study performance and high transportation expenses. While others consider it in the opposite way. Most individuals get jobs far away from home, which might require them to wake up early in the morning. Some take up to 2 hours to get to their office or school. This can cause negative effects on their productivity due to fatigue. Not only work that some people need to do, but also doing housework and taking care of their family or kids. These factors cause exhaustion in them, which can lower their job quality. For example, a mother who needs to drop her kids off at school and spends 2 hours getting to work might have less efficient and productive performance than another worker in the same position who does not have kids and lives close to the office. On the other hand, some people disagree with the negative development because they can be with their family instead of renting an accommodation. This group consider time spent with family to be important. So, they consider the distance to be a low-impact issue for them. For example, when I was in university, I usually spent almost 1.30 hours, or sometimes 2 hours, from my place to my university. Even though it is quite a far distance, I prefer living at home with my family instead of staying at dorm. In conclusion, some individuals think travelling longer distances is a negative development because of the effects on their performance. While some disagree because of the time spent with family.