Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Raising children to be respectable members of society is of utmost importance. This can be taught by their parents, or be learnt at school. Both scenarios contain different, but equally crucial lessons. There is no denying the fact that your parents are your first teachers. They are the first people you interact with, and you often mirror a lot of their characteristics. That being the case, it is essential that parents act as good role models. The way you are raised at home will dictate how you treat others outside of it. While schools may give you valuable information to help you progress professionally, it may not always teach you the values required to prosper as a member of society. For those who do not have the financial means to attend school, their parents may be their only teachers in life. The role of their parents then, to set a good example, becomes even more pronounced. Schools are usually your first exposure to people outside of your family. This means that you see a wide range of characters. Learning to interact with them, and deal with any conflicts you may have, is a skill that you may not be able to learn at home. For students who are orphans, or have absent-minded parents, their teachers often have to fill in that role. Our education systems also prepare us for situations we may face later on in our work life, which is not something you may be able to learn from home. In conclusion, it is evident that our families and schools have a massive impact in shaping our characters. However, I believe that a combined effort from both sides is necessary to attain the best results.