Many people are choosing a minimalist lifestyle, owning only essential items and avoiding excess possessions. What are the advantages and disadvantages of living in this way?

Now days many people are choosing a minimalistic lifestyle. But what are the advantages and disadvantages of this lifestyle? The first advantage is that this lifestyle is one of the ways of stopping overconsumption. For example, the person decides to change his life and become minimalist. He stops buying clothes from fast fashion brands and maybe instead goes to a second hand store. This way less clothes end up in landfills, because people are not buying clothes from fast fashion brands. The second advantage is that houses become cleaner and easier to move around. For example, the person is living in an untidy house, because he doesn’t know where to put all his stuff. But then, he decides to change his life and starts cleaning up, sorting his belongings and throwing unnecessary items out. The house becomes tidier and also the person's mind becomes cleaner, because he has cleaner space to live in. However, sometimes minimalistic homes don't show a person's personality. For example, if the person is a really big minimalist, he doesn’t keep anything that is not necessary for living. His house feels empty and boring. In conclusion, a minimalist lifestyle is good for the planet, and stopping overconsumption, however you should remember that it is your home and if you want to make it look like you it’s fine to keep some of your possessions.