Some people believe that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on young people's reading and writing skills.

In the contemporary world, the increase use of smart devices among teenagers for communication is a common issue in our society. However, there are still some arguments about whether smart devices will ruin youngsters ' reading and writing skills. While I believe that online platforms could provide young generations a variety of learning materials, I also believe that with an improper use of internet, people at a tender age will easily acquire informal language by surrounding resources. To begin with, I agree that with proper use of digital devices it could contribute to young people's literacy development. For example, teenagers could use online platforms like 'Grammarly' or 'Preply' to work on their formal English skills; also, the internet provides a wide range of E-books for youngsters to strengthen their vocabulary skills. Furthermore, artificial intelligence is another tool for youngsters to develop their literacy skills. It could serve as a personal tutor that provides a sufficient amount of ideas and feedback. This shows that there are a host of benefits from learning on the online platform if adolescents could use it wisely. On the other hand, I also agree that smart devices will provide negative impact on young generations' overall skills. For instance, a significant number of teenagers are using speech-to-text instead of typing from their phones, this could lead to cognitive laziness. Also, in many countries, like Canada or America, teenagers will learn slangs from social media or platforms to express their feelings. However, this will weaken their formal writing in proper occasions. In addition, youngsters could easily use artificial intelligence to analyze the key point of an article or essay. Without any understanding it, this could easily diminish their critical thinking. In conclusion, I partly agree that online platforms could benefit young people's literacy because of a variety of resources that provided by the internet. However, I also believe that social media could easily spread misinformation to younger generations that can lead them bypass the learning process. Whether the argument of using smart devices could weaken their literacy development or not, I do believe that the proper use of digital devices is the key to build adolescents' literacy.