Smartphones can have a positive effect on children’s education and social development, and children should be able to use them freely in school and at home. To what extent do you agree?

It is often argued that children can access smartphones without any limitations. While some people believe that these cell phones will be beneficial to young learners for learning and social development. I partially agree with this idea. This essay will discuss both perspectives before presenting my opinion. To commence with, one of the main reasons is that the young ones can improve their school grades by using these handheld devices This is because if they do not understand any topic in school, they have an opportunity to check online resources to look for solutions to their doubts. For example, a student who is not meeting his expectations in school, using online learning platforms such as YouTube can improve their scores. In addition, they can also take online coaching focusing on their weak areas of study. Therefore, digital devices can prove a blessing in students' lives. Secondly, these devices can be helpful in developing social skills among growing children. This is because young students can develop social skills by joining groups on these mobile phones with internet. In addition, they can interact with a diverse group of people across the world, which build their confidence. In contrast, there are some drawbacks of using mobile devices like distractions and detrimental health concerns. This is usually due to unrestricted and unsupervised access to phones. Growing kids cannot limit their screen time themselves on phone usage unless there is parental control. To recapitulate, although handheld devices offer several merits to minors, they can also affect them in negative ways. I believe that phones are not only helping school-going kids with their homework but also aiding them in enhancing skills.So a balanced approach is essential to maximise the benefits from smartphones in children's lives.