Most people agree that money cannot be happiness. Why is happiness difficult to define? How can people achieve happiness?

So commonly is it claimed that money should not be seen as a source of true satisfaction. Such a position can be explained in various ways, namely by an attempt to deprioritise material values or by a desire to elevate emotional fulfilment. In this essay, I will examine why happiness is difficult to define and how people can achieve it. To begin with, happiness has diverse meanings for everyone. Only when we experience genuine joy firsthand do we understand inner delight. Furthermore, individuals may reach this state at different stages of their lives, going through a sincere sense of well-being. Because personal principles, views and ambitions vary, people fulfil themselves in their own way, which may seem strange and even unexplainable to others. For instance, a childless couple may describe the day when they finally adopted a child as the most meaningful milestone for them. For another person, the same emotional peak may come from reuniting with a long-distance friend. A broader example can be seen in Nordic countries, where happiness statistics show that people may define well-being in different ways, yet still share a generally high level of life satisfaction. I suppose that, in practice, people can be truly joyful and even achieve their desired level of bliss only if they understand their own desires, have high emotional intelligence, and are open-minded. Admittedly, uplifting experiences may occur in our lives more often unexpectedly than deliberately. In my opinion, sincerity and openness are the keys to true delight, while emotional numbness and cold-heartedness are its enemies. To illustrate, despite the war, many Ukrainians try to strengthen their inner resilience and make their dreams come true, with the ultimate goal of preserving their mental stability amid chaos. Therefore, they may be described as a resilient nation capable of finding meaning despite the problems they face. Consequently, satisfaction is not only about money, however, individuals also have different understandings of what pure joy is. Having defined a personal term of delight, people experience it in their own way. Inner fulfilment, emotional resilience, and the ability to understand one’s own desires are fundamental for achieving genuine delight.