Only formal examinations, written or practical, can give a clear picture of students' true knowledge and ability at university level. Continuous assessment like course work and projects are poor measures of student ability. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that only formal written or practical examinations can picture the knowledge and ability of a university student level. On the same logic, continuous assesment such as course work and projects would give poor measures of student ability. In my opinion, it is needed to consider the variety of features and conditions that each student presents to have a fairer assesment, and that's why I completely disagree with the extent. As a language teacher, I observed that people learn things in different ways and using differents abilities. Some are more visual, others use their hearing ability, while there are also the cenesthetic ones, group of people that usually need hands-on projects to actually learn and be able to express what they know. For them, pure memorization will simply not work and this is not because they are not capable or in a lower level, but because memorization without a reason or context will not make sense in their minds and the learning process will be ruined. Formal examinations can also be superficial, in a sense that people can prepare themselves for an specific content or topic of the test, but not being able or prepared to deal with that situation in a real life context. Besides that, while examinations usually require memorization of information that will be lost in a couple of months past the exams, other forms of assingment such as course work and practical projects will bring real learning. Therefore, students can be assessed not only on their technical skills but also social and psychocoligal ones, such as resilience, group work, communication, etc. In conclusion, measuring university students level only by their performance in formal examinations can bring unfair and superficial results, since their format is limited and does not align to all the different abilities presented by the students, and that's why I disagree with that idea.