It will be better to have wide use of driverless cars for individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often argued that driverless cars would benefit society as they allow for the driver to do other activities instead of focusing on driving. While this view has it’s merits, I largely agree with the statement because human error is more likely to cause accidents and therefore shifting to such vehicles increases the safety of the passengers. One compelling reason for this position is that not only would road safety increase, but it would give people extra time each day. In this time the driver could engage in other tasks such as respond to text messages, read a book or facetime a family member. People sometimes commute for many hours each week and therefore, having this extra time available to themselves adds to their quality of life. Of course, some individuals enjoy driving, however, having driverless cars provides a nice option to those that don’t fancy spending their time focusing on traffic. This is particularly evident in situations where people are seen taking public transport for that ability to engage in other activities whilst commuting. Admittedly, some people claim that the technology behind such vehicles is not yet up to standard and therefore a potential safety risk. For example, a Tesla recently drove into a lorry causing a fatal accident. However, this overlooks the fact that car accidents of a similar nature occur daily and especially in people who drive under the influence of alcohol. In conclusion, although there are valid reasons to both arguments, I believe that having a society relying on driverless cars is the more convincing view. I agree because it allows for less reliance on human skills, as well as, provides a more comfortable way for people to travel.