In some countries, young people have become richer, healthier, and live longer, but they are less happy. What are the causes of this situation, and what can be done to address it?

As decades pass, youngsters are becoming more and more healthy, and even the duration of their life is increasing, as well as their income. However, in some countries, they are becoming less happy despite these changes. I personally believe this change is the consequence of overusing social media, and I am going to explain the reason behind this problem and how to solve it in this essay. One major reason why people are becoming unhappy nowadays is that they often compare themselves with others, especially on social media. As social media offers the opportunity to show only the positive parts of your life, it can easily break the viewers’ conception about the lives of content creators due to the lack of imperfections. Although young people lead a comfortable life, youngsters are always exposed to images of perfect diets and bodies, successful careers and expensive lifestyles, which makes them think that their lives are ordinary or unimpressive. All of these unrealistic expectations can break the individuals’ self-esteem, leading to depression, anxiety, and reducing the happiness of their lives. To address this issue, young people should be encouraged to practice regular digital detox, because it could be one of the most reliable solutions to this problem. As people are taking a break from social media, teenagers can replace it by returning to real life through connecting with their friends and family. As a result, it could restore not only self-esteem, but also help to fix their view about things that happen in real life. Because when young people become involved in real- life activities, they are more likely to build confidence from their own progress, rather than from artificial things, such as likes, reposts on social media. To conclude, as social media started being overfilled with positive content that distorts the expectations in reality, it could easily break the self-esteem of viewers, leading to mental issues. So, regular self-detox could be one of the most reliable solutions to that problem.