Some people believe in the right to freedom of speech. Others believe in censorship. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a debate between the opinion of the right to freedom of speech and the belief in censorship. From my perspective, these two ideas are complementary rather than being opposite to one another. In regard to the human right to freedom of speech, it is essential in one's social and political life. Sharing different perspectives openly would be beneficial to the development of new ideas and possibilities of improving the status quo. For instance, the freedom of speech would manifest in the academic conference where the academicians are able to exchange ideas freely. Moreover, protesting for social justice is a positive result of the right to freedom of speech, which could be observed in the actions of Black Lives Matter. When it comes to censorship, it is also necessary to set a filter for the harmful content in the interest of societal well-being. Taking the Internet as an example, surveillance on certain racist comments helps protect the feelings of the ethnic minorities. Furthermore, the censorship on sexual and drug issues would contribute to building a safer society, preventing social crimes from happening to some extent. Overall, there is a necessity to break the dichotomy of speech freedom and censorship. These two factors should be both implemented in real life to build a more harmonious world for human beings to live in.