Today, many people do not know their neghbours in large cities. What problems does this cause? What can be done about this?

Recently, the majority of urban residents do not know people who live in their community in big cities. The possible reason could be the reduction of social activities in real life due to the development of technology. And holding more social activities could be a feasible solution in local communities. With the rise of technology, especially of social media, an increasing number of people would rather surf online and talk with strangers virtually than make friends who live nearby. It is primarily because these internet abuse users are extremely introverted in real life, but more confident in front of screens. The development of the internet makes them satisfied and relaxed, so they stop talking with neighbours. In addition, their requirement can be fulfilled by using the internet, instead of socialising face-to-face. For example, online shopping and delivery systems allow them to stay at home for 24 hours without going shopping for groceries, which couldn't be imagined 20 years ago. For their mental health, local authorities should hold more activities to help them keep in touch with each other, in particular for young people. Psychological consultants should be involved to evaluate their behaviours to ensure there is no mental illness, such as depression, and so on. Sports and other hobbies should be encouraged, and relevant facilities should be built and maintained properly for the community. In some cases, emotional support animals should be introduced to certain people as well. In conclusion, more and more urban citizens are a problem to keep their relationships with their neighbours, mainly because of lifestyle changes due to technological development, and participating in more social activities could be a possible solution for them.