All types of advertising should be banned because they are damaging to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising has become unavoidable part of modern society, appearing on television, social media, and even in public places. Some people argue that all types of advertising should be banned because of their negative impact on society. However, I strongly disagree with this view, as advertising can be beneficial for both people and economy. In fact, some advertisements can be compulsive and cause negative influence. Many companies use persuasive approaches to promote adverts everywhere and encourage people to buy unnecessary things, which can teach people to lack materialistic values. In particular, chidren and teenagers are highly vulnerable to advertisements because they get caught by vivid and realistic images. Furthermore, some advertisements create fake and unreal beauty and success standards especially for girls and women, causing dissatisfaction and low self-esteem. To illustrate, a girl who just started her own business may see another girl achieving business success. Consequently, she will doubt herself and consider not doing enough. Nevertheless, banning all advertisements can be both impractical and disadvantageous. First of all, advertisements assist people with valuable information or description about products. Without advertisements, people may struggle to compare prices, qualities and lack confidence of buying certain purchases. Secondly, advertisements play a crucial role in promoting and supporting businesses, especially those that just started their journey to marketplace. Instead of prohibiting all advertising, governments should implement stricter regulations to control harmful and disadvantageous effects to society. For instance, advertisements aimed to attract by promoting unhealthy products to young generations shoul be limited, while those that spread misinformation should be punished severely. As a consequence, this approach will reduce negative aspects without banning adverts entirely. To sum up, although some advertisement types can be harmful for society and behaviour by appearing unrealistic images, I do not support the view that they should be banned. Proper and strict regulations are far more effective solution.