In some countries, people are purchasing fewer new items and more second-hand goods. What are the reasons for this? Is this positive or negative trend?

There has been quite an obvious discussion around the topic of second-hand products. While some people believe that consumers usually buy only new items, I would argue that many people spend money to buy second-hand items rather than new ones. I will explain my reasons in this essay. There is no doubt that there are many reasons why people would like to buy old products more than new items. This is because in recent years, expenses have increased in the price of goods and people can not afford to pay for new products. For example, second-hand clothes shops in Thailand have increased a large number of people choose to spend their money for it rather than buy brand news because goods in the second-hand shops are cheap and good quality. As a result, people who purchase old goods can save money for their life expenses and they can afford some money for their families. It is worth pointing out that purchasing second-hand products is beneficial for the climate of the country. This is based on the fact that the sale and purchase of used goods help in the reduction of natural materials that can reduce waste and chemicals. For instance, recent news in The New York Times showed that with a decrease of 60% in pollution and waste chemicals people supply used products more than new items. Consequently, by purchasing used goods the requirement to produce new goods is reduced in factories. In conclusion, we can observe that people are more likely to buy second-hand items as they can save a lot of money. Overall, I firmly believe that this is a positive trend which can be beneficial for people and pollution in the country.