Many food and drink products that are manufactured contain large amounts of sugar, which results in a range of health problems. To make people to consume less sugar, sugary products should be sold at higher prices. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, the issue of processed foods and beverages has sparked intense debate among many people. While many people believe that despite an increasing trend in prices, their sales rate may significantly decrease. I completely agree that as they are becoming popular, high prices cannot keep people from buying them. This essay will elaborate on my position with relevant arguments and examples. To begin with, the primary reason why I support this view is that processead food and beverage companies invest significant capital in advertising that extremely draws people's attention. This is because, by being surrounded by pop-up advertisements on social media or in the streets, people create a bond with the companies because they become familiar with them. For instance, a recent studies show that social media advertisements have a great influence on people's shopping behaviours. Therefore, it is evident that this approach brings significant consequence on the issue. Furthermore, another major factor to consider is that their sugary taste plays a crucial role in creating an addiction, changing people's brain chemisty and people become addict those foods and drinks. In other words, since children's brains exhibit neuroplasticity in the early ages, the brain wants more sugary foods, and they force their parents to go to fast food restaurants. To illustrate, recent studies demonstrate that many fast food chains use sugar at high levels in their products instead of real substances. As a result, individuals consume more sugar. In conclusion, although an increase in prices, might slightly reduce sales, I believe it is not the best solution. Because of the power of advertising and the addictive nature of sugar, people will continue to consume these products. A more complex strategy involving education and better food labelling is likely needed alongside any price changes.