More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people say that raising the prices of fast food will solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been a trend of people being significantly overweight. Some opine that the solution is to raise fast food prices, while others disagree. As for me, I strongly support this statement. Fast-food consumption has increased over the years. One possible reason for this is the rising cost of fresh produce and groceries such as fruits and vegetables. As a result, many people resort to quick and affordable options instead of making home-cooked meals. For instance, a set of Mc Burger with fries and drinks costs around 120 baht, and if ordered through the Grab or Lineman applications, the price may even be lower. This is far cheaper than cooking your own meals at home! Thus, making these items costlier is likely to cause a switch to home-cooked food. Furthermore, this approach would also reduce the appeal for consumption amongst teenagers, especially those on a limited income. With the rise in expenditure, they would find other options, including carrying tiffins rather than spending huge amounts on unhealthy items. For example, teenagers are given pocket money to spend; currently, fast food is in demand as they find it affordable. Once a tax is introduced, raising the cost of these unhealthy items, demand is likely to fall. Moreover, the increase in price would also lead to better health for the people. The percentage of overweight individuals has been on the rise, and this has led to several health-related illnesses such as cardiovascular diseases, diabetes and high blood pressure. Thus, the approach of making these junk foods more expensive is likely to be effective in reducing these health-related issues. In conclusion, I firmly agree with the statement that increasing the prices will solve the issue of being overweight. The world's economy has been entering a recession, and unemployment has been on the rise. Thus, implementing a tax on these items would definitely lead to a reduction in expenditure, enabling the government to solve the issue of overweight.