In many countries recently young single people have been living far from their parents, from the time they began studies or work and until they married. Do you think there are more advantages or disadvantages to this trend?

Student and worker mobility are ever increasing trends, their drivers being either local circumstances or the desire and curiosity to explore. In the current economic climate it has become more common to relocate. Although there are costs and cultural challenges I believe the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages. Firstly there is the cost of having to move and possibly live in the new city without having secured work first. However with careful planning such as organising work before arrival through the internet, and sound financial preparation these factors can be mitigated. For example the Erasmus grant is a European funding facility to assist students who are interested in experiencing a semester in a foreign country. Once overcoming the financial hurdles the migrant student or worker has opened the doors to a richer educational experience or an improved economic future than awaited at home. Secondly there will undoubtedly be cultural challenges nevertheless these must be seen as an advantage to relocating. For example overcoming a language barrier maybe painful at first however the long-term benefits of having learnt the language are incredible. This is another clear advantage of relocating away from ones home town. To conclude, with careful planning to reduce initial expenses the financial disadvantage can be drastically reduced. In addition a second language and a cultural education are clearly greater than the cost of early challenges in a country. Due to these beneficial factors out numbering the drawbacks this trend can only continue to grow.