It is important to give children a chance to be independent. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that giving youngsters a chance to be independent is significant. While offering them an opportunity to be independent may lead to poor judgement, I believe that providing children the chance allows them to learn many important skills. One of the most compelling factors is that being independent is beneficial for children. This means that independence helps them enhance personal growth, build confidence and even problem-solving abilities. For instance, should children make erroneous decisions, they can learn several skills from their mistakes. These mistakes allow children to develop critical thinking skills, adapt to challenges and even become resilient. Apart from that, youngsters try to overcome these problems and challenges. Resultantly, it leads to sound judgement, improved decision-making skills, problem-solving abilities and improved adaptability. The majority of children learn a lot of crucial and useful skills from making decisions. After all, should children face bad consequences or the risk of failure, they may overcome them, because most of them know information about making decisions due to life experience. However, there are several counterarguments which are most justifiable. First of all, independence may be dangerous for individuals, especially teenagers, and cause some problems. In other words, youngsters can make impulsive decisions due to limited life experience and a lack of maturity. Many children may not know about life difficulties. Additionally, they do not understand much information about decision-making skills, sound judgement and problem-solving abilities. Consequently, children feel overwhelmed and emotionally vulnerable because of their erroneous mistakes. In some cases, they are afraid of making decisions. Also, it has a negative effect on preparing for adulthood. I mean that children will not make the right decisions in their future. In short, being independent brings some problems like poor judgement, making impulsive decisions, feeling overwhelmed and emotional vulnerability. In conclusion, although providing children with a chance to be independent comes with both negatives and positives, I really agree with the given idea due to the aforementioned factors.