In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Advertisements remain an important tool for companies to attract consumers to buy their products. Nowadays, showing the new points has become a common way to draw attention. In this essay, I will first analyse the reason behind it before agreeing that it is a positive development. Firstly, the willingness to experience new functions is the main reason for this phenomenon. Customers are hoping the new goods will improve their quality of life. An employee who has worked for a whole day, for instance, is more likely to consider how to treat themselves. At that moment, an advertisement promoting a high-end chair with a SPA function will successfully draw attention. Then, more exhausted employees will buy it to relax. Therefore, emphasising the unique point is a wise strategy for businesses. Furthermore, this phenomenon promotes the development of companies. They have to keep coming up with innovative functions. Take phone producers as an example, during the past decades, they created smartphones that can scan documents, record health data, and so on, with which the old version phones were not equipped. The producers who first thought of them earned more money and beat their rivals. Thus, innovation plays an important role in long-term operation. What's more, this trend improves people's quality of life, for the new functions cater to users' demand. For instance, before software companies released the adolescents' model to limit access to apps and screen time, parents had always been worried about the abuse of electronic devices. This new function allowed parents to be free from supervising children all the time and have more leisure time. This further proves that advertising products by focusing on the new function is a positive development. To sum up, making the new functions more evident in advertisements is a wise strategy to increase turnover. Generally speaking, it is an excellent trend, for it can not only benefit the long-term development of a business but also meet customers' needs.