Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people are discussing censoring content on websites which in their opinion, is the only way to make the internet safe. In my opinion, censoring and restricting websites should be done by centralized institutions but only in some specific cases. I grew up with technological advancement and me and my peers had access to mobile phones and the interent from a very young age. During this time, web browsing safety was almost non-existent so we had the power to access any website or video without any restrictions. This lead to some of the kids stumbling upon adult content which shouldn't be accesible for children and may cause mental harm and hinder their development. Additionally, there was a special browser with which you could access the dark web, where people could engage in illegal activities. I believe the goverments should consolidate their efforts in controlling these two domains of the internet, so that the young generation doesn't get any harm from it. In my country, there were cases where young people were exploited in a cruel game competition and had to do activities which inflicted harm on them. This is also an important issue that needs addressing, as you might block some contents off the internet but there will still be some people who may try to contact or exploit the young generation. To conclude, I think the internet is a very delicate thing and goverments should be aware of the risks and negative effects it can have on people and try its best to mitigate them by restricting the damaging parts of it.