Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In today's digital age, numerous calls are made and logged each day. Part of society believes that governments should have the authority to retrieve calls and messages from individuals if it ensures the safety of these organisations. In my view, while there are instances where tracking and recording of private calls and texts is necessary, institutions should not be able to access people's private information without a determined cause. All humans have a right to privacy, and accessing their records without their permission is a violation of this principle. Leaking data might damage the person or expose them. Especially for the wealthy or powerful individuals, who might get extorted or blackmailed. Moreover, if the information falls into immoral hands, they can use it to achieve their goals and inflict psychological or other harm on the victims. Even though retrieving private communications can have negative effects, it can also help society do good and apprehend criminals that would otherwise never be caught. Espionage and Secret Service clerks might use secret conversations to find out about conspiracies and plots and stop the crime from happening. However, these are isolated cases where the government should have a reasonable suspicion of a future disaster that can be avoided with some truths coming to light. In summary, massively accessing private data should not be a privilege of the governments, although there are some situations where it is unavoidable and should be done for the sole good of society.