Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, a growing number of businesses have decided to cut down on business travel, which has led to a reduced demand for flights. A similar trend has also emerged among individual passengers. In this essay, we will discuss the various reasons for this development, based on my personal experience. It is true that many businesses have a strong need for their employees to travel long distances to run their operations. Therefore, corporates often require their staff to take flights for various purposes such as, generating more business, learning new technologies, gaining technical expertise, etc. For instance, my father's company requires him to travel to Singapore at least three times a year to oversee their international operations, and to train the local staff. Similarly, individuals fly for reasons such as tourism and visiting family. For many of them, flying may be the only feasible way to swiftly reach their destination, saving valuable time. Furthermore, thousands of aviation jobs depend heavily on people choosing to fly regularly. Hence, a reduction in flying can affect their livelihood and the survival of their family. However, aeroplane travel is expensive, and corporations can possibly save significant expenditure by cutting down business transit. Additionally, the environmental conditions improve significantly. Some studies suggest the amount of pollution caused by a single flight from New York to London would require at least 1000 trees planted to offset the effects. For example, my company has decided to replace a majority of its in-person meetings with Zoom calls, saving time and money on corporate travel. Finally, this makes way for alternative travel methods such as high-speed rail, which cause significantly lower pollution per passenger mile as compared to planes, contributing to a greener environment. In conclusion, while aeroplane travel, despite being essential for many, is witnessing a decline, it has resulted in a better environment for everyone.