"Some people believe that it would be better if the world had only one language for communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?"

More and more people think that having a one standard language for every nation is more advantageous than having multiple languages. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this statement and I believe that while a common language will improve communication, the loss of diversity would be a disaster. First of all, I believe that language is a key for cultural identity and history and a unique way to identify specific countries. In fact, every single language has a unique way to express your own self and different stories to tell. Although using a single language will be easy to communicate, people can observe the huge impact on culture and heritage for every nation. In 2023, a study published by New York University concluded that every language has their own words, some languages they don't have certain word. Therefore, using only one language can affect every country, specifically its culture and history. In addition, I believe that single language may lead to monoculture where everyone speak in the same way and have similar ideas. What I mean is that having one language can prevent biodiversity and many people cannot express their perspectives in proper way. Furthermore, there are many advantages of being polyglots such as thinking in different way and to keep your brain active. For example, bilingual individuals are better in learning and in expressing their emotions compared to those who speak only a single language. As a result, learning languages is beneficial for brain activity and a way to express feeling. In conclusion, I believe that we should encourage learning languages to improve our communication and respect our diversity as humans.