In some countries, older people are choosing to live in retirement communities with other older people rather than living with their adult children. Is it a positive or negative development?

Elderly people have contributed to our society for decades, so they should be treated well after becoming unproductive. Compared to living with their adult children, nowadays older people prefer to live in retirement communities, where they can find people in the same age range. In this essay, I agree that this trend is a positive development after analysing the effects of living in these two different environments. On the one hand, living with other elderly people benefits their mental health. People of the same age are more likely to have something in common; because of this, older people have more chances to make friends in retirement communities. Take their hobbies as an example, in China, there is always a group of people around 60 years old who enjoy dancing together in the neighborhood. They tend to wear the same clothes and are always chatting with each other. Living in the same area cannot only make them have a sense of belonging, but also meet their demand to express their emotions, supporting them mentally. Therefore, living closely helps older people develop friendships and maintain a healthy lifestyle. On the other hand, preventing older people from living with their adult children reduces the risk of having various kinds of conflicts in daily life. The age gap between parents and their children is so large that their mindsets and habits are quite different. For instance, in recent years, some older people in China believe that people should save money for an emergency that may occur in the future. This mindset led them to develop habits such as collecting and selling paper boxes. However, in terms of their children, these habits are hard to understand, for they are more concerned about how they experience their lives. In the long run, the gap in their lifestyle may undermine their relationship and exhaust both of them. If they live separately, the potential conflicts will be avoided effectively, and both parents and children will maintain their original habits. To sum up, for retired old people, living in retirement communities provides them with mental support and friends, while living with their children means that they may need to compromise their original lifestyle. Generally speaking, the former trend is a positive development for both adults and older people.