In some countries, older people are choosing to live in retirement communities with other older people rather than living with their adult children. Is it a positive or negative development?

In this modern era, some elderly people prefer to reside in a retirement center with other senior citizens rather than residing with their children. I am totally agree with this matter, and in this essay I will discuss the aspects to it and explain why I am in agreement. One major supporting factor is that, nowadays, most of the adults have many responsibilities, in addition to taking care of their parents during their elderly age. Moreover, senior citizens require more care in terms of their physical and mental aspects. Therefore, the majority of adults find it difficult to provide necessary support for their parents at their older age. On the other hand, retirement centers consist of various features and facilities that elders might find favourable for their day-to-day life. For example, there are personalised activities for maintaining their physical and mental health and there are experienced individuals such as doctors and caretakers to take care of them. Secondly, mental health is one of the major aspects that gets affected during their final years due to their older age, and currently many children don't have adequate time to spend with them to provide the required support regarding this matter. Nevertheless, in a community of retired individuals, it is most likely to have similar-minded people who might have the same interests and it is favorable for their mentality, rather than living alone during most of the day inside a house. For example, in China there are a lot of retirement facilities that have dancing, music, gardening and various types of groups that older people can contribute to and enjoy their time with each other. To sum up, for retired individuals, it is significantly beneficial to reside in a retirement home, rather than living with their busy children who don't have time to provide the affection and care that they deserve. Hence, generally speaking, the former trend is a positive development towards elders.