“Many university students live with families while others live away from home bcause their universities are in different places.” What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

It is common that university students make a choice to either remain living with their families while pursuing higher education, while others make the choice to study far away and move out of their homes. Both options have their advantages and disavantages and it is important that students choose wisely which one to follow. On one hand, choosing to stay home means that students do not have to worry about expenses such as rent, food and utilities, since moving out can be very expensive. Having family and friends around can also be of high importance, because being close to the people you love improves your mental health and makes difficult times that might happen easier to navigate. On the other hand, choosing to stay with your family can often be prejudicial, because it can lead to a lack of freedom to make your own choices and difficult developing abilities that could be helpful for an independent adult in the future, learning how to do chores and pay bills on your own from a young age are typical examples of skills that can be learned living alone and will be of importance someday. Additionally, opting to move out of your family unit can mean that you have the liberty to make your own decisions without input or prohibition from your parents, which is an important step towards being independent. To give an example, you can go to a party without a curfew, while at home you would have to follow the curfew given by your parents. Moving away from home to study has the disavantage of staying away from your loved ones and occasionally missing out on big family events, that can lead to homesickness. To illustrate, there's a chance you miss a birthday party that your family will talk about for a long time, and that can make you feel left out. In conclusion, both staying at home and moving out for university have their own ups and downs, it's important that the student makes the decision wisely, aware of the challenges both options carry.