Prison is the common way most countries try to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide the public a better education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely acknowledged that crime rates are a major concern for countries. While some people believe that prison provides a better solution to fight against crime, I strongly believe that education can reduce crime rates considerably because it can ensure social integration for criminals, and give an opportunity for them to obtain a profession. This essay will elaborate on my position with relevant examples and arguments. The foremost reason to support my view is that education has a great impact on improving social integration. This is because education, supported by well-structured curriculum, leads them to learn from their mistakes, and gives a chance to become a better person. In addition they can acquire good behaviours and empathy through training, thereby allowing them to continue a normal life. For instance some countries, such as U.S. and UK, implement a strict education, which has a developmental plan for prisoners, enabling them to understand their resposibilities in the society. Therefore, education ensures more significant opportunities than the prison by providing a more redeemable way. Another reason to justify my stance is that education also provides prisoners with a chance to gain qualification. Most criminals commit a crime because they don't have a profession. Obtaining a profession, fuelled by receiving education, drives criminals to find an opportunity to work after their release. As a result, it decreases the probability of commiting a crime again. To illustrate, Turkey has professional courses which enable prisoners to obtain a profession, leading to lower crime rates after taking available courses during their sentence. Thus, there is a strong positive relationship between education and issues of crime. In conclusion, while some individuals argue that prison provides better solutions to decrease crime rates, I firmly maintain that education ensures more reasonable and effective solutions because it gives prisoners a chance to obtain a profession and improve social integration. These benefits can be far greater than being senteced for life in prison.