A lot of money is spent nowadays searching for oil. As the world's oil resources will eventually run out, it would be more logical to spend some of this money on developing new sources of power, such as wind and solar. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although many people realize that oil will ultimately run out, searching for oil still receives a lot of funds. Consequently, I firmly agree that it would be more reasonable to allocate some budget to renewable energy development, such as wind and solar, because this approach benefits not only the environment but also the economy. Firstly, it is obvious that renewable energy is far more sustainable than oil as it releases lower carbon dioxide, preventing harmful damage to the environment. Clean energy, such as wind, solar, or even electricity, is produced with higher-efficiency methods that do not require heavy machines to burn fuel or heat oil. Therefore, carbon dioxide emission rates are lower. For example, electric vehicles play an important role in decreasing pollution as they produce less toxic gases, compared with traditional cars which use oil combustion engines. Hence, if these sources of power can be applied to various situations, the environmental issues will be tackled efficiently. Secondly, although developing new sources of power is a huge investment, this solution has long-term advantages, saving costs in particular. By switching to generate electricity with solar and wind, the cost of production will decrease because these sources of power are unlimited and available in most areas for free. For instance, many factories have installed solar panels on their roofs in order to generate their own electricity. As a result, their electricity bills are cheaper, spending lower amounts in the long run, and finally reflecting in higher profits. In conclusion, I strongly agree that an investment in renewable energy apart from oil has positive impacts on both the environment and finances. While clean energy, such as solar and wind, has lower carbon dioxide emission rates, addressing current pollution concerns, it also benefits the economy directly. With self-generated energy, companies can greatly save energy expenses, increasing their profit significantly.