People are not facing safety inside or outside of the houses. What are the causes of this and how it can be solved?

It is becoming glaring that the populace are not secured within and outside their homes. This concerning development can be attributed to factors I shall explain below. To start with, most homes (especially in the western world) are not built with sturdy materials. The focus is placed on aesthetics and ambiance, rather than safety and durability. Glass doors and windows, flimsy planks as floorboards and walls that cave in with a punch are examples of how houses themselves cannot act as a fortress in times of danger, either man made or natural. Glass can be easily shattered, planks can give way or dent and walls can be penetrated or broken down. Secondly, high-level security or state-of-the-art safety equipments such as a 360 rotating camera, home entrance codes, biometric scans, etc, that can guarantee sufficient protection are wildly expensive and only a quarter of the population can afford this. The clear alternative might be to hire a security personnel, but that also requires payment of salary from the humble income of an average indidvidual. The income which already includes feeding, transportation, utilities & maintenance, rent, and possible emergencies. It is almost impossible to have anything substantial left. A vital solution to these challenges cited above could include construction of stronger homes, with ways to get in and ways to get out. There has to be a way where safety and beauty can overlap so that houses can be still be attractive to the owners and impregnable to outsiders. Also, there could be officers assigned to patrol particularly notorious streets every fortnight and conduct regular check-ins with the civilians. Agencies or organizations can be set up specifically for the task of monitoring neighbourhoods and streets, as well as reporting suspicious activities. Finally, individuals themselves have the burden of staying safe and being vigilant wherever they are, however government can assist in this mission of preventing harm and safekeeping its people.