The use of mobile phones is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places so mobile phones should be banned like smoking. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although smoking in public is a danger to the health of others, in certain public places, the overwhelming majority of people would also consider the use of mobile phones as antisocial behaviour. While I agree that a restriction on using mobile phones is sometimes necessary, I believe that a blanket ban should not be imposed. On the one hand, in some situations, it is a good policy to ban the use of mobile phones. For example, in a classroom or a library, people wish to read or to study without the distraction of noise. There would be an outcry from library-users if people were to be permitted to chat on their mobile phones. A more serious example is the need to make illegal the use of mobile phones while driving a vehicle. This is not only antisocial, but it is also incompatible with safety on the roads, possibly resulting in a fatal accident. On the other hand, in order to live in harmony with one another, it should be socially acceptable to tolerate the use of mobile phones in some circumstances. It may be possible, for instance, to segregate people on public transport by designating chat areas on trains or buses, in the same way that in many workplaces smokers are allowed to use certain permitted areas. This would reduce the annoyance to others and might be an acceptable code of conduct in the opinion of a majority of people. Although traditional ideas of consideration for others have fallen by the wayside, talking loudly on a mobile phone in public is selfish and thoughtless. In conclusion, while I would agree that the use of mobile phones in public should be restricted, a general ban would be too extreme a measure to try to impose.