Some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is togive longer prison sentences, while others think that there arebetter alternative methods. Discuss both views and give youropinion.

While some people believe that the lengthening prison terms is the most essential way to decrease crime because it can increase deterent effects, others argue that there are more efficent approches to reduce crime.From my respective, crime reduction can not only rely on deterences,but aleducationa otherl support,like education. Advocates of the view that longer prison terms can significantly reduce crime argue that with effective deterences, people would rethink before they committ crime. This is largely because crime costs are incressing,which prevents most people from breaking the law.A typical example of that is people suffer economic difficulties might want want to steal or rob other's belongings, however,when they facing longer prison terms,they may realise breaking the law is worthless, thus make a living through legal ways.As a consequent,the risk of crime is reduced. From another respectives,many people believe that there are other effective approches like education can reduce crime.When people get education,they would have more job opportunities,which provides a sustainbale life for them. Consequently, people tend to resolve troubles through legal ways to protect their happy and peaceful life instead of committing crime,thereby contribute to crime reduction. In addition, education can shape one's personality,with more knowledge, people would like to deal with difficulties through radtional thinking rather than violence,which leads to an obvious reduction in impulsive crime. Therefore, education is a significant way to reduce crime from the origin by expanding people's knowledge and building a well-rounded personality. To sum up, although some people believe that longer prison term can efficiently reduce crime,I believe that more supportive methods like education can reduce crime from the origin, because it can help people live a better life and develop a well-rounded personality,which signifcantly leads to the reduction in people's criminal intentions.