Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many governments believe that economic development is the most important goal for their country; however, some people cotend that other kinds of progress are as crucial as economic. This essay will discuss both views and argue in favour of the latter view because other types of progress, such as Arts, can also bring attention to their country. On the one hand, economic progress plays a vital role in the development of nation. For example, if the local industries have a significant progress on inventing new material or products, the investment from abroad will come into the market; thereby, the economic environment become better, and the salary of employees can raised. People who have more income are able to invest or purchase more products. As a result, nation's economic can be improved and the environment will be better. On the other hand, soft power is equally important because it represents nation's culture and values. In the case of Arts, movie and music can reflect one's thought, through broadcasting, these values can be spread. For example, Korean government has cooperated with local companies to invest stream platform to produce their own K-drama. By this method, more korean show and movie are broadcast around the world; thus, more viewers notice Korea art industries. Furthermore, people are having more interests in South Korea. In my opinion, rather than economic progress, I believe other types of progress are equally important for a country. More precisely, the soft power is crucial for some nations which have political issue. By promoting local culture, the boundary of political problems can be blurred. Therefore, it would be easy for them to cooperate with other country. In conclusion, many governments prioritise economic progress because it can improve the investment environment and bring benefits to the country. However, other types of progress are equally important, as they can help a country promote its values through soft power. From my perspective, although economic development is necessary, soft power is especially important for countries facing political challenges, because it can help them build a stronger international image and gain more support from other countries.