Today food often travels thousands of miles from the farm to the consumer. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people prefer local farmers. Would the advantages of this idea outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people argue that consuming products from local farmers would be better for the environment and the economy. However, from my perspective, possible disadvantages of this choice can be rather harmful than useful. There are compelling arguments for this point of view in this essay. To begin with, many people think that buying local products have a long-term benefits for the economy. If citizens prefered local products instead of imported, it would obviously imrove the economy. In this case, money, which were spent on import, would be the source of funding for local farmers. In addition, increase of local farms will have a positive influence on environment. During the production of genetically-modified food large amounts of gases and CO2 cause negative impact on the environment, while local farmers can grow it without any fossil fuels. On the other hand, this system also creates major disadvantages. Firstly, in order to grow local food people need to have large fields. It means that these large areas will need many expensive machines, which can carry out entire process of growing. Moreover, It isn't just expensive, it is also time-comsuming and require a lot of physical efforts. Secondary, due to the climate, many products cannot grow in some specific places. For example, more cold countries like Greenland are not able to grow many common fruits and vegetables. Although, it indicates the importance of the import, and that the local farmers do not have an ability to provide people with all needed products. To sum up, I strongly believe that local products have more disadvantages than benefits.