Doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly. However, many of them do not get enough exercise. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to encourage them to exercise more?

In this modern era, although doctors suggest elder people do regular exercise, many of them do not do it. This is mainly due to a lack of facilities and a lack of motivation because of their age. However, there is a range of measures that could be implemented to mitigate this issue. One of the reasons for this is limited access to suitable places for exercise. In many neighbourhoods, there are few parks with walking tracks, outdoor fitness equipment, or community centres that cater specifically to older adults. It has been proven in some countries that when the park or gymnasium is nearby, older people visit more frequently, which leads to better health. Moreover, a lack of motivation to commute distances to exercise in a gym or park. Some also believe that exercise is unnecessary or even risky to do at their age, while others simply lack a companion to exercise with. However, there are a number of ways to tackle this issue. The first solution is government should invest more in age-friendly recreational facilities. There should be more parks available near residential areas where older individuals can visit often. Also, free or low-cost exercise classes can be designed specifically for senior could encourage them to participate in a safe and supportive environment. Another solution would be for families and healthcare professionals to have an important role to play in increasing motivation. Family members can accompany elderly relatives on daily walks or encourage them to join lccal fitness group. Likewise, doctors should educate the older patients about the health benefits of regular physical exercise and recommend various exercises suited to their abilities. To conclude, not only is the unavailability of proper facilities but also not having enough motivation are the reasons why elderlies do not exercise. Only when the government invest on better recreational facilities or makes it less expensive, and with the help of family members and doctors' encouragement, will the situation be remedied.