Some people think national news is more important than international news, while others disagree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

A number of individuals argue that national information is more important than global events while some people contradict the statement. This essay will discuss both statements and give my perspective on the issue. Firstly, national news is predominant as it gives information on economic and political policies which affect people’s lives. For example, when the government tell their citizens about the worst situation owing to a long summer or El Nino, everyone who lives in that country will take a decision to stock up on a massive supply of food such as rice and eggs before the price of those daily commodities dramatically increase and become rare. On the other hand, global news which presents information that there is a war between two countries which will affect the global supply chain is also a crucial event that the public needs to be well-informed due to the fact that this event will affect the price of a certain commodity. For instance, Russia attacked Ukraine and as most tanks and jets require a large amount of oil, the global price for oil derivatives automatically increased. This international news will enlighten the local people to take precautions or actions as the result of a spike in gasoline, an example, the use of private transportation will decrease. In conclusion, in my view, I would like to agree that national news is more important than international because the effects of national policies can occur directly at the same time. Nevertheless, sometimes some international news can influence the national condition of a country, although most of them are not that prominent enough for every nation. Some people debate that national events have a significant impact due to their direct association on citizen’s daily lives and economic conditions. However, others consider the importance of international events in understanding global dynamics and their potential impact on national affairs both direct and indirect.