Museums and art galleries should concentrate on works that show history and culture of their own country rather than works of the other parts in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Showcasing rich histories and cultures is undoubtedly one way to put the country in a positive light in the eyes of people. While there has been a debate about the extent of history and culture that should be showcased, there should also be a consideration of the potential effects this might have. In this essay, I partially agree with this, and I will discuss the reasons behind my thought process. Firstly, there are two reasons why I partially agree that history extends to various parts of the globe. One reason could be that there is a limitation of knowledge about other rich histories to explore. A lot of people travel to other parts of the world for learning experiences of the country's cultural heritage, while also exploring other aspects. For example, whenever I visit a new country, there is always an expectation to explore collections, learn about the stories behind them and how they are featured as part of their archive and exhibitions. Another reason could be that not displaying other archives can result in a decline of tourist attractions, school visitation for excursion as there are not enough displays of collections other than one historical part. The reasons why many individuals visit the museum are because of the expectations of a mixed collection of artefacts to be explored, and repeatedly showcasing works of their country can result in a decline of interest in visiting the facilities. In conclusion, museums play an important role in our communities, which is why it is necessary to promote a blend of histories and showcase of collection to create a rich culture around these exhibitions. Ablend of other countries' collections should be considered to foster cultural heritage.