In some countires, many young people choose to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting universitiy studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages

A significant number of young adults prefer working or travelling as soon as they finish high school instead of pursuing higher education. While it has some downsides, the upsides, such as acquiring new skills and gaining some experience, can be far greater than the drawbacks of getting away from academic life for one year. This essay will elaborate on both sides and my position with relevant arguments and examples. On the one hand, one of the advantages of one year gap between high school and university is that youngsters can develop many beneficial abilities, such as learning a new foreign language or gaining work experience. These abilities are crucial for their future academic careers, enabling them to research foreign-language sources for a complex topic. As they can scrutinise an enormous number of different articles, they can get higher marks on exams thanks to their broader knowledge. For instance, recent studies show that teenagers who know more than one language demonstrate higher performance in the exams because they can scrutinise and understand many different kinds of papers which are written in foreign languages, enabling them to look at solutions from different dimensions. In addition, they can be more competitive than their peers because they have knowledge about the work environment where they have to be always ready and improve their abilities to succeed. On the other hand, one of the drawbacks of getting away from academic life is that a gap year can deprive students of their academic habits. This is because they focus on multiple different tasks, and they struggle to readapt to the academic environment. As a result, they may not understand the first vital classes, forcing them to work hard, which these conditions trigger a shock that is not easily overcome. To illustrate, teenagers cannot even get a higher mark on exams after a long summer break because they enjoy the summer without doing anything, and their starting days would be harsh for them. Thus, even three months summer break erodes their academic abilities, one year would be harder for them to adapt to their studies. In conclusion, although a gap year has some drawbacks, I firmly maintain that youngsters can benefit from that one year by developing new skills and gaining new experiences that affect their future academic performance. These advantages outweigh the disadvantages of getting away from academia within one year.