Environmental problems are too big for individuals or individual countries to address. Therefore, they can only be tackled at an international level. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, as environmental degradation exacerbates at a rapid rate, many assume that environmental issues are nearly irreversible unless global citizens acknowledge and take measures to mitigate the crisis. This essay, from my point of view, agrees that only when individuals accept responsibilities in combating environmental issues can these issues be resolved. Initially, the severity of the environmental crisis is high, and allocating adequate financial resources comes from international parties. Since environmental problems are on a global scale, efforts made by one particular country cannot lessen the issue if other nations are unwilling to take action. Furthermore, the substantial investment required to combat environmental issues can account for almost half of national expenditure if nations take up idle funds, which is vital for the development of the country. In addition, the internal government is not sufficient in spreading awareness to citizens globally. This is because regulations can only be effective within the country. In contrast, international organisations have the authority to set laws which take effect indirectly in external regions through taxes or similar measures. On the other hand, environmental problems can be addressed locally through strengthening a country's domestic efforts. As citizens, local communities can adopt an eco-friendly approach by purchasing products that are guaranteed to produce the least emissions. Moreover, industries can import organic vehicles which comply with government regulations dedicated to protecting the environment and invest in sustainable methods such as maintaining forests. For instance, instead of relying on fossil fuels, industries can construct solar power systems to reduce carbon emissions. In conclusion, although resolving environmental degradation can be approached internationally or domestically, I believe international organisations are more effective than local authorities, as their actions are more immediate and have a more widespread impact.