Housing is a basic necessity for everyone. Therefore, governments must provide free housing to those who cannot afford it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people have held the opinion that governments should be mandated to provide free housing for poverty-stricken individuals. I am inclined to agree that housing should be free for the people who need it most but it does not necessarily have to be accessible for only the people with a low income. It is true that people with a low income struggle to find affordable housing in today's world. The rising costs of living in many countries have left many people struggling to have a roof over their head while making sure they have enough to eat and afford basic necessities. This would leave many individuals to believe that the government should intervene and help subsidise the costs that comes with affording a house for certain individuals with a low income. However, there are also other factors that should be considered beyond a person's wage when deciding who governments should provide affordable housing too. For example, people with index offences after completing their time in prison will struggle to secure employment due to their criminal history, leaving them with no income and potentially encouraging them to return to crime to make money. The income level of a person should not be the deciding factor for who gets free housing when other life stressors can influence a person's ability to find a house for themselves. In conclusion, governments should be involved in ensuring marginalized people being given a chance to own a house without paying a massive upfront cost to do so.