In many countries, young people are moving from rural areas to cities to work or study. Why is this happening? What are advantages or disadvantages of this trend?

It is widely acknowledged that rather than staying in remote places, young people prefer moving to cities to work or study. While there are some disadvantages for countries, the advantages of living in cities for young adults, such as work opportunities and abundant study options, can be far greater than the drawbacks. On the one hand, one of the main advantages of moving to cities is that there is an enormous number of vacant positions and well-known universities in cities, while rural places have limited opportunities for young adults, which in turn makes it easier to find a job and pursue an academic degree. In addition, cities have well-developed entertainment options, such as cinemas, theatres, and shopping malls, allowing people to find a balance between work and social life. Therefore, cities offer young people not only better career prospects but also a more fulfilling lifestyle overall. On the other hand, one of the main drawbacks of the wave of migration from remote areas to cities is that governments may face detrimental consequences in the long term. This is because population would increase in cities, leading to environmental issues and economic problems. Since a dense population produce more waste and consume more energy, the air quality of cities would deteriorate. An excessive number of people also apply for the same job opportunities, reducing the probability of being hired. To illustrate, in China, due to the high population in cities, people either work for very low salaries or cannot find a job at all. This also causes severe air pollution. In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks, I firmly maintain that the advantages of moving to cities outweigh these downsides because cities make young people's lives easier in terms of jobs and studies, allowing them to not only go to their dream universities but also work at desired jobs.