News editors decide what to broadcast on Television and what to write in newspapers. What factors influence those decisions? Do you think we become used to bad news? Should more good news be reported?

The content published in print and broadcasted on national channels, is compiled by the editors of news agencies. The factors which contribute to finalizing a story will be discussed in the essay, along with some answers to questions one might ask as a viewer – Have we normalized and become accustomed to bad news? Moreover, is it important to notify the masses about positive developments more frequently? With the print and television media coverage growing rapidly, the responsibility of choosing the most important content for the viewers, is bestowed upon a learned and experienced news editor in every firm. It is important to note that, although they are trained to project an unbiased opinion and choice at every step, they too are human beings, and are influenced by varied ideologies outside their profession. This to a large degree impacts the articles published and who they favour. If one considers politics, as an example, public choice is largely formed by the reporting of statistics by certified companies. However, it is imperative to also understand that, the personal sentiment of editors and organizations comes forth in all circumstances, be it in a subtle fashion or evidently. The dramatically increasing crime rates, environmental destruction and international war tend to grab the attention of viewers extensively as compared to meritorious shows, and celebrations. Additionally, there are major developments in science and technology that go unnoticed in the midst of all the negativity. When we receive such information repeatedly, it traps us to follow up, in the hope of positive developments; this leads to reading these columns as a habit. I do support the idea of providing good news, in categories such as the growth of economies, laurels in sports and other activities, and as mentioned above, scientific and technological advancements. This would be a step towards an increasingly positive, and healthy-minded society. To conclude, as we established the editors are the last filter between the public and the news, and their personal bias should always be considered in their decisions. The majority of content being negative is due to the habitual urge of consumers to be aware of developments, more so than exciting positive news. Awareness of good events should be spread with higher frequency as it improves the knowledge and mental state of the masses.