•The television is good for you. •Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of watching television. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is an ongoing debate among people about whether television is good or not. While it has some advantages, such as providing cheaper options to spend leisure time, I firmly believe that television may be a harmful tool to people because some programs on television are likely to spread misinformation, which far outweighs the upsides. This essay will elaborate on both sides and my position with relevant arguments and examples. On the one hand, rather than spending too much money to buy tickets or subscriptions, television provides many enjoyable options in a range of shows for free. People can watch television programs on government-supported or non-profit channels, which do not require any payment from viewers. For instance, in Canada, people can watch Master Chef Canada which is a well-known cook competition program on Yes TV channel for free, permitting them to spend time with their friends and enjoy the show. As a result, television allows people to enjoy quality entertainment with friends and family without the financial burden of expensive outings. On the other hand, television may become a source of misinformation when some channels start spreading fake news. This is because there is no authority to check whether the news is true or fake, which reaches millions of viewers immediately.Even though some regulations exist, they can only take action after the misinformation has already spread. To illustrate, on economy shows, some commenters speculate about the stock market, which leads to a decrease or increase in stocks. Therefore, the immediate and unregulated spread of misinformation on television can cause real financial or social harm before it is ever corrected. In conclusion, although there are some upsides, such as providing an affordable entertainment source, I firmly maintain that the drawbacks of television have detrimental effects on people's lives, resulting in some irreversible financial and social problems in society.