Many people feel it is a waste of money to try to save endangered species, for example the tiger or the blue whale. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Over the past few centuries, the number of endangered species has drastically increased. This worrying situation has raised the question of whether we should try to save them or not. Many people hold the view that this would be a waste of money. Whilst there are some reasons to justify this point, I do not entirely agree with it. On the one hand, all actions aimed at saving endangered animals require a vast amount of resources. This includes large territories with restricted access, the means of transport necessary, as well as the special equipment needed for medical controls. Moreover, all people implied, such as veterinarians, scientists, pilots, drivers, guards and all members of rescue teams must receive proper training. These resources come at a high cost, taking into account that most of them are very specific to their purpose, and cannot be easily manufactured or replaced, and there are views that these sums could be spent to make a greater impact. Therefore, it seems logical not to waste sums that could potentially end humanity’s greatest problems, including famine, poverty and unemployment, and focus on solving them. On the other hand, many endangered species play a major role in nature. For example, they regulate the population of their prey or act as natural sanitizers in their ecosystems. Their removal could generate disastrous consequences, affecting not only the environment, but also humans. A case in point is the extinction of the Tasmanian wolf, which led to a dramatic increase in the number of kangaroos in Tasmania. Consequently, they damaged significant areas of grazing land and negatively affected sheep farming. That is why I think we should protect them from extinction, as that could cause significant problems in crucial economic branches such as agriculture, which are of paramount importance in our existence. In my opinion, such actions should be well-funded. I believe that they represent a way to prevent catastrophes from interrupting economic activities. In conclusion, while some people argue that saving animals on the verge of extinction is a waste of resources, I disagree entirely. I feel that society as a whole benefits from it, and should be informed more about their role in nature.