The internet has made knowledge immediately available to people through computers and smartphones all around the world. Much of this knowledge is also free. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

As the internet has become an integral part of modern life, it has made knowledge available to people via computers and cell phones all over the world. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this trend. On the one hand, it is inevitable that by means of the internet, people can access information and knowledge instantly through computers and smartphones. People can be aware of everything without visiting libraries, which allows them to save a considerable amount of time and money. Therefore, it allows them to spend their time on other activities rather than going to libraries or searching for information manually. Additionally, individuals may receive education via the internet, obtain various certificates and diplomas, thereby improving themselves. It is exemplified in staying at home and boosting professional skills online. Moreover, the internet allows individuals to be informed by all kinds of news, which helps them to keep up with the modern world, given that it is a demand of the high-tech century. On the other hand, getting knowledge remotely has some disadvantages, too. Firstly, people cannot study on a university campus while getting a higher education, which may cause less sociable and more isolated lifestyle. This is because they may miss opportunities to participate in education clubs, social activities and festivals during their university years. In addition, accepting information via the internet through computers and smartphones constantly makes almost everyone undergo a radiation. Excessive use of computers can expose people to prolonged screen time, which may negatively affect their physical well-being, particularly their eyesight. In conclusion, it is crystal clear that receiving information on the internet has both advantages and disadvantages.