Some people believe that restoration of old building costs too much. We should demolish them and build new one instead. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate about whether demolishing and rebuilding are more effective methods than restoration. While a significant number of people believe that reconstruction requires an excessive amount of capital, others argue that destroying and building a new building provides an optimal solution. In my opinion, the decision should depend on the building's significance: structures with cultural or historical value should be restored, while those posing safety risks, such as fire hazards, should be demolished and rebuilt. On the one hand, ancient buildings have a great impact on society, as they reflect their culture and tradition. Although restorations require an enormous amount of capital cost, these buildings are distinguished examples of old civilisations' artistic expression, which in turn attracts a considerable number of tourists' attention to visit them. To illustrate, instead of choosing the cheaper option of demolishing and rebuilding, a new church, Montreal's Notre Dame church has been restoring because it has artistic pillars and carvings, drawing tourists' attention from across the world, which in turn boosts the government's economy. Thus, there is a trade-off between restoration and reconstruction, which can compansate high restoration costs. On the other hand, ancient buildings have a variety of considerable risks during a series of natural catastrophes, while new buildings are more robust to them. Since old buildings, such as houses and governmental buildings, were made of wood and non-resilient materials, when advanced construction technology was not available at the time. For instance, Istanbul often faces cases of burning old buildings because these were made from wood in the past, and they start a demolition and rebuilding campaign to eliminate fire risks. Hence, rebuilding solutions can prevent cities from a variety of risks rather than restoring them. In conclusion, restoring and reconstructing can provide different types of opportunities for authorities. Although restoring maintains society's cultural heritage, rebuilding strengthens old buildings ' stability and resilience.